UEFA Nations League 2022-23, 23/09/2022

 

When Roberto Mancini’s Italy play England on Friday night in the group’s middle match, the San Siro will serve as the site of a rematch of the Euro 2020 final.

The Three Lions, on the other hand, enter the contest coming off a dismal Nations League season in 2022, losing all four of their games in June.

After a 1-0 loss in Hungary, a late Harry Kane penalty helped them tie the game in Germany. After that, they played poorly in a 4-0 loss to Hungary at Molineux and a dreary 0-0 draw with Italy.

Eyes on the prize. ⚽️ pic.twitter.com/kwTlsdilAh

— England (@England) September 22, 2022

In their first three Group A3 games, Italy defeated Hungary and drew with Germany and England before losing 5-2 to Germany in the rematch last time out.

The defending champions of Europe are in third place, three points ahead of England in the relegation slot and two points behind leaders Germany. In this group, anything may happen, according to Mancini. “Losing 5-2 in the last game wasn’t fun, but even then I noticed some good things happening,”

👀#ITAENG #NationsLeague #Azzurri #VivoAzzurro pic.twitter.com/7WmBfPszat

— Italy ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ (@Azzurri_En) September 22, 2022

The match will take place at San Siro on Friday, September 23, 2022, with play beginning at 2:45 p.m. EDT/11:45 a.m. PDT for viewers in the United States and 7:45 p.m. (BST) in the United Kingdom. England must win in Milan to avoid being demoted to League B of the competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*